lagom.

I’m a bit of a nerd.

For example, I get hooked on words.  When I came across ‘lagom’ it was the perfect inspiration for a blog. Not only do I dig the word, I love the concept, its like Goldilocks and the three bears, not too much, not too little, it is just right.

Lagom, is a concept we face daily, in the finance world this is referred to as asset allocation. Learn it, live it, love it. Hence, in the interest of higher education and weaving in my work and personal lives, I thought I might come at things here from a different angle here, inspired by lagom.

To set the scene, some of my biggest learnings has been in dating men outside my standard age/occupation framework.  The research results have been extremely insightful. Now breaking out of your boundaries in dating is scary, as is breaking out of your life boundaries, your work, your daily routine, your home town, all terrifying and as it should be, this is where you will see real change and is completely worth doing if you are single and living in Vancouver or anywhere for that matter. In doing this, I had an epiphany the other day (while out running of course), ladies and gents, it all comes down to strategic asset allocation.

When I first started in my current work gig nearly 3 years ago, one of the biggest hurdles I had to endure was understanding the various types of segregated funds and what made each one special, and why one fund over another might make its way on to a particular clients fund line up.

Just like a person. Why some people end up as part of your life, and others get put on the watch list, and then eventually removed, discarded. And when it comes to you specifically, why you evolve and keep certain characteristics with you overtime, and other qualities or bad habits you try to kick and get rid off.

It became evident that for the majority of clients, asset allocation funds (one fund name, made up of about 12-14 underlying funds) were in most cases the most attractive option for a fund line up, in terms of sustainability, consistency, all things behaving themselves in the market of course.

Asset allocation funds, are just like people. We are each our own single fund but we are all made up of a variety of qualities/assets that make us bad ass. And we need to hedge things, get rid of one particular asset in order to protect another, a better preforming asset, quality or characteristic.

Now there are asset allocation funds out there that stay stagnant, and then there are those that evolve, that change overtime, they rebalance, they sense check with the help of a skilled fund manager to make sure they are preforming to the best of their ability.

The lesson, in my epiphany, is to be strategic, and rebalance your assets. Not just when it comes to dating, but more importantly, as it pertains to looking after yourself, achieving your goals and of course your morals,  being able to sleep at night.

I bounced into yoga class one Friday last month, high off  a sushi lunch with Sir J, despite the fact that I felt under dressed, and a teenager out on a date with someone I shouldn’t be out with, all I was missing was my book bag and some bubble gum and pig tails. My assets were out of whack.

Oscar Wilde was right, you can never be over dressed or over educated. He was onto his own theory regarding asset allocation here I reckon. Now, in this instance, I had the education part down,according to my mother, she said thank god I was wearing my glasses, , Sir J would at least realise I was educated and a working woman because I had my glasses on. Bless her.

Anyway back to yoga, I bounced in, and the receptionist and I had our standard Friday chit chat, until she said to me, what is up with you, why are you so bubbly and happy? I am always so jealous of your happiness. I immediately flashed to that quote about jealousy/anger, that its like drinking the poison but expecting the other person to die. Jealousy is a waste of emotion, a wasted spot in your asset allocation mix.

However, we tend to be perpetually envious of someone else’s something (their assets), career, love life, bank account, etc. and  receptionist was recognising my bubblyness as one of my assets.

Now another thing is you can’t fake assets, ok no I take that back, you can fake assets but you really need to determine if its worth it. And if you are faking all your assets, not only is this going to be exhausting, but its going to be transparent.

The morale of todays blog is to be conscious of your assets, and be genuine. Take pride in your high performers.  Know your strengths, own your strengths, understand what characteristics make you unique, and bad ass.

Those that are not so much? Well its up to you to hedge, rebalance, get rid of the low performing qualities, or at least acknowledge them, then do a fund review and fund mapping, get rid of those qualities on your watch list and move into something better preforming.

This can really be applied to all things in life. All of our assets.

I ran this blog past a couple of girlfriends when it was in development, and they asked me to be more specific, where can I go for help, where can I find ‘fund managers’ to help me with my personal asset allocation?

OK well to start, if we are talking aesthetics, these are my recommendations and shout outs to the amazing people that help me with my asset allocations:

Hair?

Vancity: book in with Robert  at In.Salon in Yaletown  he is the hair god.

Fraser Valley :Michelle, Pizazz, Willowbrook, Langley, just do it.

Wax?

Two words,  Dona Lucia (Kits or West Georgia)

Attire?

Whatever makes you feel good. Nordstrom, Holts, le sign, I covet you but again here its all about lagom. No binge, no purge. If you are looking for inspiration on how to look high end but stick to your working girl budget please head on over and check out a fellow Vancouverites wicked style blog: http://www.youroldsweater.blogspot.ca

At the end of the day, I still attest, smiling is the most powerful asset.

For the internal stuff? It is officially  the new year my friends! Let go of the negative, release the past, release anything that isn’t serving you or building you up and inspiring you to go be the best, you deserve the best.  Get out there, smile, run the show,  go hustle, and remember lagom.

 

Author: hotchildinthecity

Storyteller, Observer.